Insights: news and views from the International Center

International Center

University of Missouri

MU faculty members selected as 2012 global scholars

Filed in Costa Rica, News and announcements by on January 30, 2012

This summer, a group of 13 MU faculty members will have the opportunity to develop new research and teaching opportunities with colleagues in Costa Rica and Panama as part of the MU Global Scholars program.

Global Scholars seeks to expand faculty involvement in MU’s strategic international relationships and foster new international collaborations for participants such as research grants, papers, and teaching innovations. In 2002 the the program received the Andrew Heiskell Award for Best Practices and Innovation in International Education from the Institute of International Education. Over 150 faculty members have participated since the program’s inception in 1998.

MU’s Council on International Initiatives selects seminar locations each year based on the university’s international interests. Under the guidance of rural sociology professor Jere Gilles, the 2012 seminar will introduce selected MU faculty members to the system of research and higher education in the Costa Rica and Panama, and will provide an overview of how each of these nations has attempted to balance the needs of their citizens and the environment in an increasingly integrated world economy. Professor Gilles has extensive experience in Central and South America, and has directed an MU study abroad program to Costa Rica for ten years.

The deans from each of MU’s colleges and schools may select faculty from their division for participation in the program. Participants must submit a work plan that identifies potential collaborators in the target countries and expected outcomes that will result from their participation. Faculty selected for the 2012 progam, by division, are:

College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources

  • Carla Barbieri (Parks, Recreation, and Tourism)
  • Matthew Gompper (Fisheries and Wildlife Sciences)

College of Arts and Science

  • Zakiya Adair (Women’s and Gender Studies)
  • Roxana Carlo (Psychological Sciences
  • Treva Lindsey (Women’s and Gender Studies)
  • Anand Prahlad (English)

College of Education

  • Sarah Diem (Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis)
  • Alejandro Morales (Educational, School, and Counseling Psychology)

College of Engineering

  • Rodger Fales (Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering)
  • Enos Inniss (Civil and Environmental Engineering)

College of Human Environmental Sciences

  • Gustavo Carlo (Human Development and Family Studies)

School of Journalism

  • Maria Len-Rios

Truman School of Public Affairs

  • Judith Stallmann (Agricultural Economics, Rural Sociology, and Truman School of Public Affairs)

Comments are closed.